All about stuffed animals

A Teddy Bear, an old stuffed toy dog, and a plush toy bunny on a blanket in the grass.

For as long as I can remember stuffed animals have been a part of my life. (For example, I’ve had Munchie, pictured in my Easter post, my whole life).  Stuffed toys have been loved by children for years now, but for how long exactly? Who decided to make a stuffed animal toy in the first place? Let’s step back in time and find out.

STEIFF AND THE PINCUSHION

In 1877, Margarete Steiff started a successful clothing company. In 1879, she found instructions to make a small stuffed elephant in a magazine and decided to try making it. Margarete sold the elephants as pincushions.

She soon discovered that children were more interested in them, so she began to sell the elephants as toys instead. Later on, Margarete created her own patterns for other stuffed animals. Steiff company animals are celebrated to this day.

TEDDY BEARS

In 1902, President Theodore Roosevelt accepted an invitation to go hunting in Mississippi. Roosevelt’s guide cornered and wounded a bear and tied it to a tree so the President could shoot it. When he arrived, Roosevelt refused because the bear was helpless. Cartoonist Clifford K. Berryman drew a likeness of the event.

Three teddy Bears on a chair. Photograph by Kirsten Jerry.
Three teddy Bears on a chair. Photograph by Kirsten Jerry.

It is popularly believed that Morris and Rose Michtom, inspired by the cartoon, got the president’s permission to use his name, then began selling Teddy Bears in their store, but this theory is disputed. It could have been Steiff that made and sold the first Teddy Bears. In any case, stuffed animal sellers began to make the lovable toys.

While you read these next sections, please keep in mind that I’m not an expert or a parent; all the information comes from my research and I encourage you to do some of your own if you have concerns.

THE DOWNSIDE

 A stuffed toy dog handmade by my great-grandmother. Photograph by Kirsten Jerry.
A stuffed toy dog handmade by my great-grandmother. Photograph by Kirsten Jerry.

As much I love and recommend stuffed animals, there are a few down sides. First, many stuffed buddies are coated in flame-retardant chemicals. Some of these chemicals are said to disrupt hormones or to cause cancer. Toys made with natural materials or made at home may be safer options.

Second, stuffed toys can be allergens. Dust, dirt and germs can collect on the beloved toys and they should be washed regularly. There are several methods to cleaning a toy that’s not machine washable (I remember cleaning one of mine with an old toothbrush) but it is probably better to find ones that are machine washable.

THE UPSIDE

Stuffed animals can help a child’s development. Toddlers, for example, can gain many skills from such play. Talking out loud to Teddy means toddlers practice speaking. This helps with pronunciation as their vocabulary expands.

 Toddlers can use Stuffed animals to replay social or scary moments, such as being left at daycare, so they can learn how to handle these situations. They can also hit, hug or throw the toy while learning to control emotions. Controlling games played with stuffed toys can help build confidence and creativity. A toddler might begin pretending to be a parent to the toys, practicing parenting skills and making up reasons to punish or reward their “children.”

MY THOUGHTS

This is munchie the bunny (again). I've had him my whole life. Photograph by Kirsten Jerry.
This is munchie the bunny (again). I’ve had him my whole life. Photograph by Kirsten Jerry.

I just LOVE stuffed animals! They’re cute, fluffy and were my best friends growing up. I don’t have kids, so I never thought about chemicals on stuffed animals before. Why would anyone think that’s okay? Sadly, I believe it would be an extremely difficult task to find store-bought toys made without potentially hazardous chemicals today.

I was surrounded by stuffed animals as a child, and I haven’t suffered from having them. I don’t even have allergies. However, I realize that all children are different and what was good for me, might be bad for someone else. How do you feel about chemicals on stuffed toys? Let me know in the comments!

CONCLUSION

It’s hard for me to imagine life without stuffed animals. These cute buddies have an interesting history and help with a child’s development, but some can also be toxic. It’s important to choose carefully and wash regularly. However, I advocate for stuffed animals as faithful childhood friends. Having grown up with stuffed toys I urge you to consider them for your child (or even for yourself) for years of fun, cuteness, and cuddles.

Published by Kirsten Jerry

My name is Kirsten Jerry. I graduated from Durham College’s Journalism - Web and Print program in June 2018. I love to read and more importantly I love to write. I grew up and live in Canada.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started